Menu
9780393352351 198

FLASH!

Writing the Very Short Story

Paperback

John Dufresne (Author)

Our Retail Price:£12.99

Add to Basket

Description

An engaging and frank guide to writing the very short story, full of sound advice, exemplary models and provocative exercises.

The history of fiction has been dominated by the novel and the short story. But now a brave new genre has emerged: very brief fiction. FLASH! identifies the qualities that make for excellent flash fiction, demystifies the writing process and guides writers by exercise and example through the world of the very short story. John Dufresne’s characteristic warmth, wit and humour remind writers of the joy in the creative process, making this a perfect guide for any writer interested in trying a new form.

Reviews

FLASH! Writing the Very Short Story by John Dufresne identifies the qualities that make for excellent flash fiction and guides would-be writers with exercises and examples through the world of the very short story. A perfect guide for any writer interested in trying this popular form.” — Writers' Forum magazine

Also By: John Dufresne View all by author...

  • 9780393348927 72

    No Regrets, Coyote: A Novel

    John Dufresne

    Paperback, 2014

    “A very cool ride. If Raymond Chandler was reincarnated asa novelist in South Florida, he couldn’t nail it any better thanDufresne.”—Carl Hiaasen
  • 9780393070538 72

    No Regrets, Coyote: A Novel

    John Dufresne

    Hardcover, 2013

    For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane, a South Florida noir from the best-selling author of Louisiana Power & Light.
  • 9780393330526 72

    Louisiana Power & Light

    John Dufresne

    Paperback, 2013

    A favorite novel by “a generous and lyric storyteller” (San Francisco Chronicle) known for his tragicomic voice and unforgettable characters.
  • 9780393331141 72

    Deep in the Shade of Paradise: A Novel

    John Dufresne

    Paperback, 2013

    A favorite novel by “a generous and lyric storyteller” (San Francisco Chronicle) known for his tragicomic voice and unforgettable characters.
  • 9780393330953 72

    Love Warps the Mind a Little: A Novel

    John Dufresne

    Paperback, 2012

    Reissue of a favorite novel by “a generous and lyric storyteller” (San Francisco Chronicle) known for his tragicomic voice and unforgettable characters.

Related to this Book