Menu
9781324092032 198

The Metaverse

And How it Will Revolutionize Everything

19 July 2022

Matthew Ball (Author)

Description

In the tradition of The Second Machine Age and Superintelligence comes the first book on the next internet: the metaverse

The term “metaverse” is suddenly everywhere, from debates over Fortnite to the pages of The New York Times to the speeches of Mark Zuckerberg, who proclaimed in June 2021 that “the overarching goal” of Facebook is to “bring the metaverse to life.”

But what, exactly, is the metaverse? As pioneering theorist and venture capitalist Matthew Ball explains, it is the successor to the mobile internet that has defined the last two decades. The metaverse is a persistent, 3D, virtual world—a network of interconnected experiences and devices, tools and infrastructure, far beyond mere virtual reality. And it is poised to revolutionise every industry and function, from finance and healthcare to payments, consumer products and even sex work. The internet will no longer be at arm’s length; instead, it will surround us, with our lives, labour and leisure taking place inside the metaverse. With sweeping authority, The Metaverse predicts trillions in new value—and the radical reshaping of society.

Reviews

"'Metaverse' is the new buzzword, but few can define it. Matthew Ball's comprehensive treatise lays out the potential and--just as importantly--the challenges in realizing the Metaverse and how it fits into the technological evolution from personal computing to the internet to mobile computing. This book helps separate fact from fiction, hype from reality, and should be foundational reading for anyone that wants to understand the possibilities of the Metaverse." — Reed Hastings, co-Founder and co-CEO of Netflix

"Matthew Ball’s essays have defined, analyzed, and inspired the Metaverse for years. His book is an approachable and essential guide to the strategic, technical, and philosophical foundations of this new medium." — Tim Sweeney, founder and CEO of Epic Games

"Matthew Ball has been writing massively influential essays on the Metaverse for years now, and here he distills everything he knows into an authoritative guide for anyone the Metaverse will touch--which is to say, all of us. This book not only captures our moment--it will also shape our collective future." — Taylor Lorenz, tech columnist, Washington Post

"A thought-provoking look at the evolving intersection of technology, society, human nature, and creativity. Matthew Ball's enlightening guide is a must-read for every creator and company that is embarking on their journey to the new frontier that is the Metaverse. A new world shaped by individuals and driven by incredible social experiences has just begun." — Kenichiro Yoshida, CEO of Sony

Hardback

9781324092032

160 x 239 mm • 352 pages

£22.00

Add to Basket

Ebook

9781324092049

Info

Powered by Glassboxx

£22.00

Coming Soon