Menu
9781324092032 198

The Metaverse

And How it Will Revolutionize Everything

July 2022

Matthew Ball (Author)

Description

In the tradition of The Second Machine Age and Superintelligence comes the first book on the next internet: the metaverse

The term “metaverse” is suddenly everywhere, from debates over Fortnite to the pages of The New York Times to the speeches of Mark Zuckerberg, who proclaimed in June 2021 that “the overarching goal” of Facebook is to “bring the metaverse to life.”

But what, exactly, is the metaverse? As pioneering theorist and venture capitalist Matthew Ball explains, it is the successor to the mobile internet that has defined the last two decades. The metaverse is a persistent, 3D, virtual world—a network of interconnected experiences and devices, tools and infrastructure, far beyond mere virtual reality. And it is poised to revolutionise every industry and function, from finance and healthcare to payments, consumer products and even sex work. The internet will no longer be at arm’s length; instead, it will surround us, with our lives, labour and leisure taking place inside the metaverse. With sweeping authority, The Metaverse predicts trillions in new value—and the radical reshaping of society.

Hardback

9781324092032

152 x 229 mm • 256 pages

£19.99

Add to Basket

Ebook

9781324092049

Info

Powered by Glassboxx

£19.99

Add to Basket